President Cyril Ramaphosa has today, Sunday 30 June 2024, announced the new members of the National Executive for the seventh administration, which is inclusive of all the parties to the Government of National Unity.

The highly anticipated announcement took place after Ramaphosa was elected as the President by the National Assembly on Friday, 14 June 2024, after which he was inaugurated on Wednesday, 19 June 2024.

The eleven parties to the GNU include the African National Congress, Democratic Alliance, Patriotic Alliance, Inkatha Freedom Party, Good Party, Pan Africanist Congress of Azania, Freedom Front Plus, United Democratic Movement, Al Jama-ah, Rise Mzansi and the United Africans Transformation.

Addressing the nation on Sunday evening, the President said given the challenges that the country faces and considering the electoral mandate this government must implement, he has decided to make certain changes to the national government portfolios.

“In the course of the sixth democratic administration, we indicated our intention to reduce the number of portfolios in the National Executive. However, due to the need to ensure that the National Executive is inclusive of all the parties to the Government of National Unity, this has not been possible.

“In some instances, we have considered it necessary to separate certain portfolios to ensure that there is sufficient focus on key issues,” Ramaphosa said at the Union Buildings in Pretoria. – SANews

Leave a reply